Janette Sadik-Khan

New York City Department of Transportation

Janette Sadik-Khan was appointed commissioner of the New York City Department of Transportation by Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg in 2007. She is internationally recognized for her expertise in transportation issues, public policy development, and innovative finance - knowledge she gained in over eighteen years of experience in federal and local government and the private sector. Since her appointment, Sadik-Khan has implemented an ambitious program to improve safety, mobility, and sustainability throughout New York City, and to ensure a state of good repair on all of the Department's roads, sidewalks and bridges. For her extraordinary efforts at improving traffic flow, fostering sustainable transportation and increasing New Yorkers' access to open public spaces, she was awarded the 2011 Jane Jacobs Medal for New Ideas and Activism by the Rockefeller Foundation. Sadik-Khan is also president of the National Association of City Transportation Officials (NACTO), chair of the Transportation Research Board's (TRB) Committee on Transportation Issues in Major U.S. Cities, and was appointed to the Energy Secretary’s Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC). Prior to her appointment as commissioner, she was a senior vice president of Parsons Brinckerhoff, a leading international engineering firm. Previously, she was deputy administrator at the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), managing the capital construction budget and responsible for developing an innovative finance program which provided localities with increased funding and regulatory flexibility. Sadik-Khan holds a BA in political science from Occidental College, a law degree from Columbia University School of Law, and is a member of the New York State Bar. She was a Rockefeller Fellow and has been a visiting scholar at New York University. She has published widely on transportation policy, planning, and finance and project management.

Product image
Beyond Zuccotti Park
Freedom of Assembly and the Occupation of Public Space
Roland V. Anglin, Caron Atlas, Thomas Balsley, Terri Baltimore, Shirin Barghi, Rick Bell, Marshall Berman, Julian Brash, Wendy E. Brawer, Paul Broches, Carlton Brown, Lance Jay Brown, David Burney, Brennan S. Cavanaugh, Susan Chin, Alexander Cooper, Arthur Eisenberg, Lynne Elizabeth, Anastassia Fisyak, Karen A. Franck, Michael Freedman-Schnapp, Mindy Thompson Fullilove, Hon AIA, MD, Gan Golan, Jeffrey Hou, Te-Sheng Huang, Lisa Keller, Brad Lander, Peter Marcuse, Jonathan Marvel, Signe Nielsen, Michael Pyatok, Michael Rios, Jonathan Rose, Janette Sadik-Khan, Saskia Sassen, Paula Z. Segal, Sadra Shahab, Benjamin Shepard, Ronald Shiffman, FAICP, Honorary AIA, Gregory Smithsimon, Michael Sorkin, Nikki Stern, Maya Wiley
In the wake of the Occupy Wall Street movement, leading planners and social scientists examine public space today and freedom of assembly.